logo mobile

e-Agriculture mobile logo

Posts on the topic "open data"

09/02/2017
Open Data and Open Science: Current Trends and Global Initiatives Tuesday 14 February 2017 13:00 Ghana | 14:00 Rome | 15:00 Johannesburg | 16:00 Nairobi IAALD Africa Chapter will be hosting a free webinar “Open Data and Open Science: Current Trends and...
18/07/2016
The Global Open Data for Impact and capacity Development in Agriculture and Nutrition (GODIVAN) is a 3.5 year project led by international partners with a strong agriculture, nutrition, data and ICT record including Wageningen UR –Alterra, AgroKnow, the...
24/03/2017
The CTA ICT Update 84th issue is now online. The new issue focuses entirely on open data for agriculture and nutrition. Open data is data that can be freely used, reused and redistributed by anyone. There is an enormous amount of data and open data but...
20/03/2017
The forestry sector plays an essential role in Vietnam's economic development. About 25 million people are living in or near forests, particularly in mountainous regions, with many of them being poor and belonging to ethnic minority groups who depend on...
16/03/2017
Feed the Future has launched the Data Driven Farming Prize, looking for tools and approaches that source, analyse and translate data into actionable, timely and context-specific information for smallholder farmers to improve value from agricultural...
06/03/2017
In 2011, the Kenyan government launched the Kenya Open Data Initiative, making key government data freely available to the public through a single online portal. Kenya Open Data is an initiative designed to make developmental, demographic, statistical...
17/02/2017
The 2017 Africa Open Data Conference in Accra, Ghana is set to attract over 600 delegates drawn from all over Africa and the world at large. This auspicious event will push the leadership role of the private sector in supplying, using, and demanding open...
15/02/2017
Read the full statement here (image credit HealthDayNews) The Global Open Data for Agriculture and Nutrition (GODAN), has launched a new working group on Soil Data Working Group, in cooperation with the Research Data Alliance and the Global Soil...
26/08/2015
Thomson Reuters published an in-depth report on " How will we fill 9 billion bowls by 2050?" The report raises the big issue of how the world will feed the 90 billion or more people predicted to be living on earth by 2050. Dr. Woteki, Chief Scientist and...
26/08/2015
Read a new blog post from GODAN's communications team on some of the ethical issues involved in equitable sharing and use of data, particularly as increasing amounts of data are now generated by or for farmers, although the discussion and implications...

Pages

Subscribe to open data